CHICAGO HEIGHTS STAR- Nov. 15, 1964

Marian Can't Score; Bows in Final Game

By Bob Lueder

DeLaSalle ended the season with one of the best records in the school's history by blanking Marian 14-0 at Bloom field Saturday afternoon.

The Parents day celebration held by Marian was not enough to fire up the Spartans for the battle with the powerful Chicago outfit.

Marian was not able to get its offense rolling because DeLaSalle guard Frank Wagner spent most of the afternoon rushing Tim Tierney's calls.

Wagner's defensive efforts hampered much of the Spartans ground attack and when Tierney went to the air, Walt Szymanski stood out.

The Meteors scored their first touchdown early in the second quarter when Steve Kurtovich went two-yards off tackle and Jim Small booted the extra point.

DeLaSalle put another score across in the fourth period when Wagner forced Tierney to fumble and then landed on the ball.

After seven plays with Kurtovich and John Lynch alternating plays, quarterback Mike Hughes kept the ball and skirted around right end for the score.

Small kicked the placement to give the Meteors the final count that brought them their eighth win against one loss, to Chicagoland Prep winner St. Patrick.

Marian made its deepest drive into DeLaSalle territory as time was running out in the game.

Tom Bijak blocked a punt attempt by Small and the Spartans took over at the 33-yard line where they moved for a quick first down.

Tierney connected on a third down pass play to end Ed Scott at the 16 yard line, but Jerry Nicolas failed on the fourth down try to give the ball back to DeLaSalle.

Nicolas, who won the area scoring title with 86 points, was not used to great extent in Marian's offense, being used on only five rushing attempts.

The Spartans ended the year with a 5-won, 3-loss and 1-tied record for the year, losing others games to Homewood-Flossmoor and Gary Andrean.

Winding up the football season will be the annual banquet and award's night next Sunday at Marvel hall. Hugh Devore, assistant athletic director at Notre Dame, will be the principal speaker.